We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. Read more…
Amphoe Waeng

Amphoe Waeng

Amphoe Waeng, Thailand

Get Directions

Add phone number

Add link to website

Work hours Add information
Description Waeng is the southernmost district of Narathiwat Province, southern Thailand.HistoryThe district goes back to the district Tomo, which was a subordinate of Mueang Ra-ngae. The village grew bigger and bigger because of the gold mining there. 1935 a minor district covering the central part of Tomo was established and named Pa Cho . 1939 the minor district received the name Tomo because it contained the subdistrict named Tomo, and the parent district was renamed to Waeng. 1953 the minor district Tomo was abolished and included into Waeng again. 1957 the subdistrict Tomo was also abolished and included into the subdistrict Samong, which then formed part of area split off as minor district Sukhirin in 1977.GeographyNeighboring districts are Sukhirin, Su-ngai Padi and Su-ngai Kolok. To the south is the Kelantan state of Malaysia.At the village of Ban Buketa, a Malaysia-Thailand border border crossing to the neighboring Malaysian town of Bukit Bunga. A part of Hala-Bala wildlife sanctuary is located in the district.AdministrationThe district is subdivided into 6 subdistricts, which are further subdivided into 45 villages . There are two townships within the district - Waeng covers parts of the tambon Waeng, and Buketa covers parts of tambon Lochut.