We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. Read more…
Thursday
10
MAY

Opening Reception - Where I Stop, Where You Begin

18:00
21:00

Get Directions

Category
#var:page_name# cover

ArtSpan’s Studio Artists Residency at the Journal Building announces the participation of its 16 constituent artists in an exhibition, “Where I Stop, Where You Begin,” at Avenue Gallery, 3361 Mission Street in San Francisco.

Exhibition: May 7th - July 9th
***The gallery hours vary. We will post the gallery hours every week on our page: facebook.com/journalbuilding

Opening Reception: Thursday, May 10th, 6PM-9PM
Closing reception: Thursday July 5th, 6PM-9PM

Working in pairs, the residency artists have created all new collaborative works that will debut at the opening. The partnerships were mutually agreed upon so that the processes of conception, experimentation, and equal participation, and conclusions all developed organically from a point of reciprocal respect. This collaborative process was a creative challenge with as well as a lesson in compromise as the artists needed to frequently step from their comfort zones in order to co-mingle their working styles. The finished labors are unique, varied and certainly a highlight of the show.

The artists will also each display work in their signature style next to their collaborative pieces. This will both showcase their individual talents and illuminate the unique styles within the collaboration. These works feature many unique styles, techniques and mediums including; photography, painting, assemblage, pen and ink and other forms of drawing, altered books, and mixed media.

The artists:
Addendum24: www.addendum24.com
Ariel Gold: www.arielgoldart.com
Carmela Cucueco: www.carmelacucueco.com
Denise Laws: www.deniselaws.com
Eliot Rattle: www.eliotrattle.com
Jane Gehrke: www.janegehrke.net
Kecya Felix Donnelly: www.babalawolab.com
LE BohemianMuse: www.lebohemianmuse.com
Lexie Bouwsma: www.lexiebouwsma.com
Nancer LeMoins: www.artspan.org/artist/Nancer
Rachel Styer: www.rachelstyer.com
Shane Izykowski: www.shaneizykowski.com
Sophia Lee: www.barkingowls.com
Taiko Fujimura: www.taikofujimura.com
Tisha Kenny: www.artspan.org/artist/Tisha%20Kenny
Uma Rani Iyli: www.umaraniiyli.com

We look forward to seeing you all at the Opening Reception on Thursday, May 10th!

Venue

Avenue