We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. Read more…

Recognition Awards Program


Get Directions

#var:page_name# cover

Thursday, April 12th
6:30 – 7:45 pm
Burge Union, Forum C & D

Come to celebrate the following trailblazers, role models, and mentors who inspire and motivate us to challenge the status quo and advance gender equity:

Lydia I. Beebe, J.D.
Corporate Director, Kansas City Southern and Aemetis Boards

Jannette Y. Berkley-Patton, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Director of the KUMC Community Health Research Group

Mary Klayder, Ph.D.
Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies; English and University Honors Lecturer
University of Kansas

Sandy Praeger
Former Kansas Insurance Commissioner

Reverend Julie Johnson Staples, J.D.
Executive Director, Intersections International

Lynette Woodard
Head Women’s Basketball Coach, Winthrop University

Shirley Gilham Domer, Ph.D.
First Director, KU Affirmative Action Office and first Director, KU Information Center

Sally Mason Woman Student in Science
Brittany Multer (senior, Civil Engineering)

Gender Equity in Action Award
Elise Higgins (graduate student, Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies)

Marlesa and Hannalesa Roney Student Success Mentor
Pegah Naemi (graduate student, Social Psychology)

Kathleen McCluskey-Fawcett Woman Mentoring Women
Cindy Ly (graduate student, Microbiology)

Outstanding Woman Student in Leadership
Brittney Oleniacz (graduate student, Geology)
Alejandra Garcia Brenes (senior, Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology)

Outstanding Nontraditional Woman Student
Lauren “Haley” Bajorek (junior, Anthropology)

Outstanding International Woman Student
Haifa Alhadyian (graduate student, Molecular, Cell and Developmental Biology)

Outstanding Woman Student Athlete
Laura Taylor (senior, Communication Studies)

Bernadette Gray-Little “Expanding the Reach” Faculty Award
Tamara Falicov (Professor; Interim Associate Dean for Research in the Arts and Humanities
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences - School of the Arts - Film and Media

Bernadette Gray-Little “Expanding the Reach” Staff Award
Jen Brockman (Director, Sexual Assault Prevention & Education Center)

Alma Poehler Brook Award
Nicole Seavall (GSP)
Abigail Mcliney (GSP)

Be sure to RSVP, as spots are filling up fast: https://emilytaylorcenter.ku.edu/program-rsvp-2018

This event free and open to all KU students, faculty, and staff. Lawrence community members are also welcome.

Light refreshments will be served at a reception following the program.


Burge Union