We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. Read more…

Performance: Psirens / Alive album release

form & concept
Event organized by form & concept

Get Directions

#var:page_name# cover

Please note: form & concept will ask for a $5-$25 donation at the door in support of the featured performers and the gallery.

“In my mind, it’s become ‘the impossible album,’” says Paris Mancini, known professionally as PSIRENS, of her new project. As its title indicates, ALIVE (Matron Records) was supposed to be a live album. “I really focused on writing these simple, raw and true songs, just the bare bones,” the Santa Fe musician explains. “So it made sense to try to record them with a full band.” When she attempted to schedule a Santa Fe recording session with a number of far-flung musicians, things got a little too complicated. In lieu of bringing a band together, Mancini traveled across the nation to record with each of her accompanists.

The result is a 12-track album of stripped-down, jazz-inflected songs that will debut at form & concept on Friday, May 11 from 6 to 9 pm. The ALIVE Album Release Concert is presented by Matron Records, and will feature the first-ever live performance of the new album. “It sounds like we’re all in the same room, which is so hard to do,” Mancini says. “What’s funny is that it isn’t really a live album, but I had to fight so hard for its existence. So it is remarkable that it is alive.”

Learn more about this event: http://www.formandconcept.center/event/psirens-alive-album-release-concert/

For press inquiries, please contact Jordan Eddy at jordane@formandconcept.center.

Album Credits //

Matron Records
All songs written by Paris Mancini / PSIRENS
Vocals, Looper, Bass guitar- Paris Mancini (Everywhere)
Piano- Grisha Krivchenia (San Juan Island, WA)
Harp- Matthew Tutsky (Boise, ID)
Drums- Mikey Chavez and Will Dyer (Santa Fe, NM)
Cello- Jake Saunders (Boise, ID)
Recorded by Dave Badstubner, Will Dyer, Broke MC and Julian Fox
Engineered/mixed and mastered by Will Dyer (Hills Audio), spring 2018.