We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. Read more…
Wednesday
16
MAY

Amy Sackville: Painter to the King

18:30
20:00
Golden Hare Books
Event organized by Golden Hare Books

Get Directions

Category
#var:page_name# cover

Join us at Golden Hare Books to explore the masterful third novel from phenomenal novelist Amy Sackville, who won the John Llewellyn Rhys and Somerset Maugham prizes and was longlisted for the Orange Prize



Painter to the King is a portrait of Diego Velázquez, from his arrival at the court of King Philip IV of Spain, to his death 38 years and scores of paintings later. It is a portrait of a relationship that is not quite a friendship, between an artist and his subject. It is a portrait of a ruler, always on duty, and increasingly burdened by a life of public expectation and repeated private grief. It is a portrait of a court collapsing under the weight of its own excess.

In the vein of Possession, Wolf Hall and Golden Hill, the hotly anticipated new novel from Amy Sackville combines the historical with a modern sensibility and philosophical insight. Unfolding through series of masterly set pieces and deft sketches, this is a novel of brilliance, imagination and sheer style – the reader will feel as though she has stepped right into the paintings themselves, and then, from a distance, will see them anew.

‘Amy Sackville has been known for the exquisite quality of her prose. With her third novel, she has tried something different, something more audacious, perhaps, and proves more than equal to the challenge. A work of great subtlety and sophistication’ Rupert Thomson







Amy Sackville was born in Plymouth in 1981. She has degrees from Leeds, Exeter College, Oxford, and Goldsmiths. Her first novel The Still Point was longlisted for the Orange Prize and won the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize and her second, Orkney, won the Somerset Maugham Award. She lives in London.