We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. Read more…

Royal College Vs St. Joseph's College - Schools Rugby League

Royal Rugby
Event organized by Royal Rugby

Get Directions

#var:page_name# cover

Royal College altered its sporting history forever in 1916 when it took to playing Rugby. By this time Trinity College in Kandy has started the game already in 1906 and on 31st July 1920, the first Royal vs. Trinity Rugby match was played. This historic match resulted in Royal being grounded by the Trinitians. The same fate followed most of the early encounters until Royal first scored in 1924 and had their first win in 1941. Royal also won both matches in 1943, the year the two match series was started. Matches against other schools also started such as Zahira Collegein 1925, St. Peters in 1932, St. Josephs in 1955 and St. Thomas in 1956.

It was the Royal principal E.L. Bradby who initiated the two-match Colombo – Kandy series with Trinity. In 1945, he offered the Bradby Shield to the team that has the higher aggregate of points in both matches. Today, this is the most prestigious school Rugby match in the country. Although the rivalry between the two schools is extremely tense, it must be mentioned that both the winner and looser are always gracious.

The Centenary match between the two schools was the second leg encounter played in 1983 in which the Chief Guest was Mr E.L Bradby himself. The 2008 second leg match was the 150th match between the two schools. The 2002, the Bradby encounter was the highest scoring encounter for Royal, led by Zulki Hamid, winning a record (39-00) in the first leg held in Colombo and winning the second leg (44-00) in Kandy, thus winning the Bradby Shield with a record aggregate of 83 – 00.

The Royal – Trinity Rugby matches for the Bradby Shield have brought the two schools close to each other in a way that is inexplicable. In particular, after the match in Kandy, the old boys of both schools get together for a night of revelry and entertainment in the best of Traditions.

The annual encounter against St. Thomas is contested for the Micheal Gunaratne Trophy which was introduced in 1962. The annual encounter against Isipathana Vidyalaya is contested for the Milroy Fernando Trophy.

-Source taken from royalcollege.lk-