We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. Read more…
Tuesday
24
APR

Page Pairings

18:30
20:30
M. Judson Booksellers
Event organized by M. Judson Booksellers

Get Directions

Category
#var:page_name# cover

We're getting together with our friends at The Chocolate Moose to organize a book-inspired wine tasting (because The Chocolate Moose also has a stellar wine list!) where the qualities of each wine get paired with books that share the same spirit. Your ticket to the tasting includes your choice of one of the featured books. Bottles of wine will be for sale at great prices too. It’s a great date, or a perfect girls night out.

Joining us this evening will be Charlotte writer (and attorney) Phillip E. Lewis with The Barrowfields, a debut novel the New York Times called “a work of abundant talent.” Set in a small Appalachian town, against the tensions between father and son, The Barrowfields details the ways dark family legacies can loom large. Beautifully written and classically told, this book will appeal to fans of Ron Rash, Walker Percy, and The Great Santini.

We’ll also host local authors Kelly Durham and Kathryn Smith with their historical noir, Shirley Temple Is Missing. Lead by a fictional version of FDR’s personal secretary Missy LeHand (the subject of Smith’s wonderful biography, The Gatekeeper) and including characters based on Shirley Temple, J. Edgar Hoover, studio head Daryl F. Zanuck, and FDR himself, this mystery earned raves from Kirkus, calling it a “smoothly flowing story...loaded with insider-y moviemaking details, and it even offers a few peeks into the personal side of the White House.” We’re hoping it’s the start of a series!

Sign up in the link below:
http://www.mjudsonbooks.com/calendar/2018/4/24/page-pairings