We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. Read more…

Wired To The Sky // Abigail Lapell // Ben Somer

Mills Hardware
Event organized by Mills Hardware

Get Directions

#var:page_name# cover

Tickets $10 Adv. $15 @ the door

// Ben Somer
Ben Somer is a gifted songwriter with a knack for storytelling. His works are painstakingly candid snap-shots of the day-to-day which bring to mind the great songwriters of a bygone era. Armed with a razor-sharp wit and a gift for brevity, Somer crafts beautifully compelling songs that are as heartbreaking as they are tongue-in-cheek. His music has travelled across the country via radio, television, internet, and relentless touring. Part of a new generation of artists carrying on the Great Canadian Songwriting Tradition, Ben has performed hundreds of concerts ranging from intimate living room shows - playing to a handful of attentive listeners - to larger music festivals where he’s shared the stage with world-class artists. The future looks promising for the young musician, who has already garnered critical acclaim, and with a third studio album forthcoming it seems that Somer is well on his way to joining the ranks of Canada’s songwriting elite

// Abigail Lapell
Toronto folk noir songwriter Abigail Lapell draws freely from roots, indie and punk rock traditions. Her latest release, Hide Nor Hair, won the 2017 Canadian Folk Music Award for Contemporary Album of the Year, and she received the 2016 Colleen Peterson Songwriting Award from the Ontario Arts Council. Hailed as an artist to watch by NOW Toronto, Lapell has toured across North America, Europe and the U.K., performing on vocals, piano, harmonica and finger style guitar.

// Wired To The Sky
Wired To The Sky is the ever-evolving solo project of Canadian songwriter, Dylan Perkons. After relocating from Montreal to the West Coast he began performing new material, frequently collaborating with a rotating cast of Vancouver Island musicians. In late 2016 the band entered the studio to record their debut album, produced by Juno Award-winner Colin Stewart (Dan Mangan, Black Mountain, Yukon Blonde). The upcoming 2017 release, titled Steady Sparrow, Steady Flight finds Perkons' residing comfortably in a post-Americana landscape. Though his dusty baritone remains at the front and center of the album, the dynamic arrangements carry the listener through the songs. The album features contributions from Pat McTaggart, Dave Thompson, Kathryn Calder, Laura Mitic, Marc Jenkins, Nevada Brown, Michael Lewis and Megan McCaffrey. Swaying between colorful indie folk and eerie country-noir, the music compliments the earnest writing woven throughout the songs.