We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. Read more…
Wednesday
28
MAR

Rise with Liam Young

18:30
20:00
Five Leaves Bookshop
Event organized by Five Leaves Bookshop

Get Directions

Category
#var:page_name# cover

Rise, how young people learned to love politics and vote for Jeremy Corbyn, with Liam Young

Liam Young started campaigning for Jeremy Corbyn in the 2015 leadership election and didn’t look back. Whilst studying at the London School of Economics he wrote for the Independent and the New Statesman and served as one of few voices in the media that stuck with Corbyn. Doing so earned me the title of “Corbyn’s biggest fanboy” from the far-right blog, Guido Fawkes. He now works for one of the unlikely winners in the general election, the Labour MP for Kensington and Chelsea (whose constituency covers Grenfell), Emma Dent Coad.

While many commentators questioned Corbyn’s actions, Young wrote about how his policies would work and be popular. He harnessed the power of social media and has emerged as one of the most influential Labour supporters of his generation. When the general election results of 2017 came through, he was not surprised by the surge in support for Corbyn’s Labour.


His book, Rise, covers how the youth movement in the Labour Party galvanised a nation that will appeal to readers of Owen Jones and Paul Mason, but it is also a manifesto for the future and a call to action for anyone who believes it should be possible to create a better Britain.

Free, no ticket required. Licenced premises. All welcome. Note the venue.

In association with West Bridgford Labour Party

(Note – this picture came up when we Googled Jeremy Corbyn and the youth vote, so we are using it!)

Other events by
Five Leaves Bookshop