We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. Read more…

RNCM Symphony Orchestra


Get Directions

#var:page_name# cover

Camille Saint-Saëns Danse macabre Op 40
Béla Bartók Piano Concerto No 1
Johannes Brahms Symphony No 2 in D major Op 73

Sergej Bolkhovets conductor
Wyn Chan piano

For the first Symphony Orchestra performance of our Summer season and one of our final French Connections events, we’d like to offer everyone a special capped ticket price of just £5 for this concert.

Tonight’s programme was chosen by our Junior Fellow in Conducting Sergej Bolkhovets, for what will be his final assessment, and Bartók’s Piano Concerto will be performed by Wyn Chan, one of the winners of our Concerto Competition. As seen elsewhere in Bartók‘s output, percussion is at the forefront of this work, complementing the piano, which is also played percussively.

Brahms composed his Symphony No 2 less than a year after the première of his Symphony No 1 – an astonishing fact given that the former had taken him 21 years to complete from sketches to finishing touches. Finally confident in his abilities as a symphonist, and less troubled by the looming shadow of Beethoven, Brahms created a much more genial, spontaneous work that was well-received by both critics and audiences.

Our evening is completed by Saint-Saëns’ atmospheric tone poem based on an old French legend that Death appeared every Halloween at midnight to rouse the skeletons from their graves to dance until dawn. If it sounds familiar and you can’t quite place it, the piece also made an appearance as the theme music to the BBC series Jonathan Creek!

Other events by
RNCM - Royal Northern College of Music