We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. Read more…

Love and Death Part 2


Get Directions

#var:page_name# cover

Beethoven: String Quartet No. 1
Janáček: String Quartet No. 2, “Intimate Letters”
Saad Haddad: String Quartet (world premiere)

The Lydian String Quartet, ensemble-in-residence at Brandeis University, will conclude their 2017-2018 Brandeis Season by premiering Saad Haddad’s new string quartet. Each year, the Lydians perform two to three full concert programs at Brandeis, as well as additional Brandeis recitals by individual LSQ musicians. Love and Death Part 2 is a continuation on this year’s Brandeis season theme. LSQ presented Love and Death Part 1 on January 20th.

Composer Saad Haddad, who will be in attendance for the event, describes his quartet as traversing “many areas of traditional Middle Eastern music, …and seeking to amalgamate those characteristics with traits typically found in Western classical music.” Haddad’s quartet is composed of three movements. The first, “Daf,” is named after the frame drum commonly used in traditional Middle Eastern ensembles, and features rhythmic pulses in a “seemingly improvised, though thoroughly composed, manner.” The Second, “Fugha,” imagines “what it might have been like if Bach was born in Alexandria, rather than Eisenach, and what harmonic discoveries… he might have made in pursuit of his perfect counterpoint.” The final movement, "Nashwa," or 'trance,' “is an aural meditation inspired by the contrast of swelling resonances from inside the oud, an Arab lute, and the surface, percussive sounds of the qanun, an Arab zither.”

This event will be preceded by a 7pm preconcert talk.

$20 for adults, $15 for seniors and Brandeis community, $5 for students