We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. Read more…

7/22: Bongripper, Foehammer & Druglord at Strange Matter

Strange Matter
Event organized by Strange Matter

Get Directions

#var:page_name# cover

BONGRIPPER (Chicago doom titans)

8PM Doors // 9PM Sounds
$15 // 18+
On-sale Friday 3/30 at Noon:

Alongside appearances at Migration and Modified Ghost festivals, Chicago doom veterans BONGRIPPER will be making their debut RVA performance this July in support of their 7th self-released LP of instrumental doom since they burst onto the scene in 2006! In their first ever stop here we thought we'd make it as goddamn heavy as we could by bringing down sludge-laden sounds of Northern VA's FOEHAMMER, a fuzzed-out funeral doom act for those into Corrupted, Buried At Sea, etc. Rounding out one of the coolest possible doom lineups we can think of are local powerhouses DRUGLORD whose dirgy Sabbathian worship harkens to mind genre-leaders like The Melvins and Karp (not to menton one of our favorite guitar tones in RVA. Might wanna get your tickets in advance on this one as BONGRIPPER isn't known to tour much and this will be your first chance to see them somewhere intimate in Virginia!
BONGRIPPER: BONGRIPPER is set to release their seventh full-length album, 'Terminal', on July 6, 2018. This is the follow up to 2014's 'Miserable.' The album was recorded, mixed and mastered by Bongripper's Dennis Pleckham at Comatose Studio with artwork from Sam Alcarez, the artist behind the band's merchandise throughout the years. 'Terminal' will be released through their label, The Great Barrier Records on vinyl, CD and digital formats.

Bongripper is doing their first US East Coast Tour in a decade in support of the new full-length. This includes a special performance of 'Satan Worshipping Doom' in its entirety at Saint Vitus in New York City. They will also be appearing at Modified Ghost Festival in Vancouver and Blowup Festival in Helsinki, Finland. Tour tickets are on sale Friday, March 30.

Track Listing:
1. Slow
2. Death