We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. Read more…

Baxter Dury / Wednesday 21st February

The Deaf Institute
Event organized by The Deaf Institute

Get Directions

#var:page_name# cover

Baxter Dury has announced details of his new album Prince of Tears, to be released on 27th October 2017 via his new label Heavenly Recordings - available on vinyl, CD & DL.

To coincide, Baxter has shared the new video for ‘Miami’, the album’s opening track and portal into his hazy, anti-wonderland. We are guided by ‘Miami’ himself; a foul-mouthed and cocksure character created by Baxter, centred on the delusions that can come with heartbreak. ‘He thinks he’s got swagger, he thinks he’s someone, but he’s not’, explains Baxter.

Prince of Tears was recorded at the end of 2016 at Hoxa Studios, co-produced by Baxter himself & Ash Workman (Metronomy) and mixed by longstanding collaborator Craig Silvey (Arcade Fire, New Order, Florence & the Machine).

Intensely personal, yet brutally open, this is Baxter’s fifth album and his most ambitious and biggest work to date. Whilst retaining the natty charm of his previous works, like his debut Len Parrot’s Memorial Lift or the acclaimed Happy Soup, Baxter this time worked with a full band and orchestra to truly bring the soundscapes of his emotional netherworld to life.

The album features notable guests; including longstanding fan Jason Williamson from Sleaford Mods on the track ‘Almond Milk’ and Rose Elinor Dougall on ‘Porcelain’, as well as long-term collaborator Madelaine Hart providing backing vocals across numerous tracks and illuminating some of the album’s dark corners.