We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. Read more…
Wednesday
25
APR

40 Days and 40 Nights

20:00
15:30
The Theatre Centre
Event organized by The Theatre Centre

Get Directions

Category
#var:page_name# cover

40 Days and 40 Nights
Co-produced by Necessary Angel Theatre Company, Electric Company Theatre, and The Theatre Centre

The Theatre Centre, 1115 Queen St. West
April 25–May 6, 2018

Tickets: Preview $17 | Rush (at door) $20 | General (advanced) $22.50
Service charges may apply
Book 416-538-0988 | PURCHASE ONLINE: https://goo.gl/5eqNfy

The performance begins: A bell is rung by each individual as they enter the theatrical space. A glass of water is ceremoniously distributed, and everyone drinks together. The ritual has begun. The audience is then asked a series of questions about love and lovers. If the answer is yes to any one of the questions, they are invited to sit.

Mysterious, symbolic, achingly intimate. Two lovers whose love exists across time, and transforms across time, philosophize and ritualize love as a vital aspect of living.

Created and Performed by: Daniel Brooks and Kim Collier
Consulting Director: Jennifer Tarver (for Necessary Angel Theatre Company)
Composers: Debashis Sinha and Andrew Creeggan
Designer: Ken Mackenzie
Artistic Associate: Lucy McNulty
Inspired by the writing of philosopher Alain Badiou

Initially developed through The Theatre Centre’s Tracy Wright Global Archive, and further workshopped by Necessary Angel Theatre Company and Electric Company Theatre

PERFORMANCE DATES
Wednesday, April 25 – 8:00PM – Preview. PWYC available at the door (cash only) 2 hours before the performance.
Thursday, April 26 – 6:30PM – Necessary Angel’s 40th Anniversary Party. For more information and tickets click here: https://goo.gl/f35W8q
Friday, April 27 – 8:00PM – Opening
Saturday, April 28 – 8:00PM
Sunday, April 29 – 2:00PM
Tuesday, May 1 – 8:00PM
Wednesday, May 2 – 8:00PM
Thursday, May 3 – 8:00PM
Friday, May 4 – 8:00PM
Saturday, May 5 – 8:00PM
Sunday, May 6 – 2:00PM

Approximate running time: 1 hour and 30 minutes