We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. Read more…

UNCW Presents: Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center

UNCW Office of the Arts
Event organized by UNCW Office of the Arts

Get Directions

#var:page_name# cover

The Chamber Music Society presents chamber music of every instrumentation, style, and historical period in its extensive concert season in New York, its national tours, its many recordings and national radio broadcasts, its broad commissioning program, and its multi-faceted educational programs. Demonstrating the belief that the future of chamber music lies in engaging and expanding the audience, CMS has created programs to bring the art of chamber music to audiences from a wide range of backgrounds, ages, and levels of musical knowledge. The artistic core of CMS is a multi-generational, dynamic repertory company of expert chamber musicians who form an evolving musical community.

This sublime program strings together three seminal works from the chamber music repertoire that together provide a snapshot of the evolution of classicism in music by three of its greatest German exponents: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Carl Maria von Weber, and Johannes Brahms.

Mozart’s delightfully intimate “Kegelstatt” trio, referred to as one of the composer’s most perfectly integrated compositions, opens the program. In this charming work, Mozart showed the world that the clarinet could stand as an equal partner alongside other instruments in a chamber music setting: an unconventional and novel idea at the time. Though the musical reputation of Carl Maria von Weber rests almost entirely on his opera Die Freischutz, which heralded the beginning of musical Romanticism, his Clarinet Quintet remains a favorite of the repertory. It is an effervescent and joyous work that provides all of the virtuosic thrill of a concerto. Brahms’ pioneering Piano Quintet in F minor, generally considered to be one of his greatest chamber music compositions, is a dark, mighty work of tremendous scope and symphonic breadth that brings this program to a splendid conclusion.