We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. Read more…

YOA Orchestra of the Americas


Get Directions

#var:page_name# cover

Conducted by Carlos Miguel Prieto, the youth orchestra are joined by world-renowned Venezuelan pianist Gabriela Montero for Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto.

YOA Orchestra of the Americas
Carlos Miguel Prieto | Conductor

Gabriela Montero | Piano

Chavez | Symphony No 2 ‘Sinfonia india’
Tchaikovsky | Piano Concerto No 1
Copland | Symphony No 3

Passionate, flamboyant, brilliantly incisive: YOA Orchestra of the Americas is one of the world’s most remarkable youth ensembles. Bringing together the most accomplished young musicians aged 18 to 30 from throughout North and South America in a single, powerful orchestra, it has toured the world to enormous acclaim.

Exuberant Venezuelan pianist Gabriela Montero is rightly one of today’s most admired musicians: she joins the Orchestra for the surging passions and unforgettable melodies of Tchaikovsky’s beloved First Piano Concerto.

Mexican conductor Carlos Miguel Prieto completes the programme with the hope, heroism and joyful optimism of Copland’s euphoric Third Symphony – complete with his Fanfare for the Common Man incorporated into its finale. He opens with the scintillating native rhythms of Mexican composer Carlos Chavez’s rousing Sinfonía india.


Usher Hall

Other events hosted by

Usher Hall