We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. Read more…
Howrah Zilla School

Howrah Zilla School

9,Church Road, Howrah, 711101, India

Get Directions


Work hours Add information
About This is the only government school in Howrah. Established on 1st December 1845. This Educational Institution with great history & presence proudly emerges as one of the leading Higher Secondary School of West Bengal. Coordinates: 22°34'52"N 88°20'6"E
Howrah Zilla School cover
Description Inauguration of English-education is a historical event in India and those historic days, when so many schools were already established in custody of British Government & East-India company, 'Howrah Zilla School' was one of them, a resplendent traditional institution of Bengal, Howrah.

Behind the outset of the school, there was a big reason. Deeming the educational problems of the students, the inhabitants (190) of Howrah put into setup a new school near District Magistrate (D.M) and finally, he, Cockburn Sahib, approved their keen request.

From 26th November 1885, the school was started and the British teacher Mr Donalgard was appointed as a headmaster. During that period there was an another teacher, the famous educationist Mr Bhagabati Charan Basu who was the second preceptor of that school. But, the official date of its establishment was on 1st December 1845. At that time, it was known as
'Howrah Government School'. Sri Bhudev Mukhopadhyay, the disciple of Derozio and the friend of Michale Madhusudan Dutta, was the first Indian headmaster of this traditional heritage.

In exchange of sixty Rs, initially the school was started in a rented house near Howrah Court and after, when students got an increase, British Government provided a land and money for setting up a new building for the students. In 1885, students of this school were first appeared in C.U. entrance and in 1899 Mr Makhanlal De who ranked 1st in this exam, later appointed as a Headmaster(1938) of this same institution. Continuing this tradition, we got so many jewels like Ayan Paul(1st in H.S,2001), Sovan Dutta(1st in Engineering Joint Entrance, 2008) etc. who spread and illuminated the name of our prestigious school.

Dr. Rashiklal Dutta, Professor Prasanna Kumar Dutta, Mahendranath Roy, Charuchandra Singha, Sir Deboprosad Sarbadhikari, Narasingha Dutta, Dr. Sahidullaha (linguist), Subrata Mukherjee (air marshal), Rabindra Lal Singha (education minister), Bani Kumar(dramatist), Dr. Ashit Kumar
Founded 1st December 1845

Similar places nearby