We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. Read more…
Los Angeles Open

Los Angeles Open

Los Angeles (CA), United States

Get Directions

Add phone number

Add link to website

Work hours Add information
Description The Los Angeles Open was a former tennis tournament held in Los Angeles, United States from 1927 until 2012. It included a women’s draw until 1974 when Linda Lewis won the last ladies title. Subsequently it became a men only event and integrated into the ATP's professional tennis circuit. The inaugural edition of the event, known as the Pacific Southwest Championships, was organized by Perry T. Jones and held at the Los Angeles Tennis Club (LATC) in October 1927 and Bill Tilden and Kea Bouman were the first singles champions. The tournament quickly became a prestigious event on the tennis calendar.HistoryThe tournament was usually held in July or August, and hosted the top men in the world. Tournament winners from its beginning in 1927 until 1967 included most of the world's No. 1 tennis players: Bill Tilden, Ellsworth Vines, Don Budge, Fred Perry, Jack Kramer, Pancho Gonzales and amateur champions Roy Emerson and Barry MacKay. In the open era the event was known by various names including Farmers Classic, Countrywide Classic, Los Angeles Tennis Open, Pacific South West Open and Jack Kramer Open. Jack Kramer became the tournament director in 1970 when Jones retired. In the open era, the tournament was won by Rod Laver twice, a second and third time by Gonzales, Stan Smith, Arthur Ashe, Jimmy Connors, John McEnroe, Pete Sampras, Richard Krajicek, and Andre Agassi. In doubles, Bob and Mike Bryan won a record six titles.

Similar places nearby