We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. Read more…
Tobago Youth Council- TYC

Tobago Youth Council- TYC

Fairfield Complex, Scarborough, Trinidad and Tobago

Get Directions


Add link to website

Work hours
MO 09:00 – 17:00 SA closed
TU 09:00 – 17:00 SU closed
WE 09:00 – 17:00
TH 09:00 – 17:00
FR 09:00 – 17:00
About The Tobago Youth Council is the umbrella youth organisation on the island charged with the responsibility of articulating the voice of Tobago's youth.
Tobago Youth Council- TYC cover
Mission "To be a dynamic, recognised and respected independent body, capable of being the collective and articulate voice of Tobago's youth."
Description HISTORY

The Tobago Youth Council (TYC) was established in 1944, with an Executive Committee comprising of Dr. David B. Quamina, Chairman; Dr. J.D. Elder, Vice Chairman and Mr. Basil Pitt, Secretary. Past presidents of the Council include Mr. Hochoy Charles, Former Chief Secretary of the Tobago House of Assembly (THA); Mr. Huey Cadette, Secretary of Education, Youth Affairs & Sport of the THA and Mr. Wilton John, Former Director of Youth in the National Ministry of Sport & Youth Affairs.

Throughout the history of the Council there have been a number of periods of dormancy. Most recently, after a 6-year period of dormancy, the TYC was reactivated in 2001 and incorporated in 2005. The TYC then functioned until 2012 after which there was another period of dormancy.

In May 2016 the inactive executive submitted their resignations and a Steering Committee was selected to rebuild and re-energise the Tobago Youth Council.

The TYC General Elections was held on October 7th, 2017 and a new executive was installed at the Tobago House of Assembly, Tobago Youth Awards 2017 on Thursday 12th October, 2017. The new Executive are as follows:
President- Mrs. Latoyaa Roberts-Thomas, Trinidad and Tobago Youth Ambassadors
Vice President - Dr. Kern Johnson, Life House Foundation
Secretary- Ms. Rheanne Moore, Charlotteville Police Youth Club
Treasurer- Mr. Collin Edwards, VYBZ
Public Relations Officer- Mr. Kevon Mc Kenna, VOGUE
Trustees- Arlene Brebnor, Roxborough Police Youth Club and Shaquille Reviero, Aqua Force Dragon Boat Team
Founded The TYC was Founded in 1944

Similar places nearby